We may have money, but we are losing our time

I read a great article the other day that has been going around Facebook. It discusses a lot of things I’ve been thinking about lately.

The article argues that our society has been designed to sustain the economy, making us the pawns in the system.

After our 8-10 hours spent at work daily, it doesn’t leave much time for free time. Mostly, Americans eat a quick dinner and then go to sleep to do it all over again, and then only have two days– if that– every week to spend doing anything other than work. This leaves Americans in need of quick, expensive, entertainment. We have lost the ability to entertain ourselves with more time-consuming activities like walking through a park, exercising, or reading a book. We may have money, but we lost our time.

“For the economy to be “healthy,” America has to remain unhealthy.”

Sadly, I am becoming one of these people, and I’m still young. I feel like I’m wasting my life working an office job I dislike. I need to get out of this rat race of  accumulation of material things. The other day, we had a company meeting about stock options, and they said we couldn’t cash out until we are 70 1/2 years old… It’s hard for me to think of working a miserable desk job for another 45 years. What a waste of life! I don’t want to look back on the years only to see myself working the whole time.

It seems like the only way to do this is to work for myself– work for myself, support myself, don’t work for other people.

At least I will feel like I’m living for me.

(Here’s the article)

Your Lifestyle Has Already Been Designed

Leave a comment