Food Truck Style Quinoa Tacos with Slaw

I have been craving food truck tacos for about a month now, so I decided I would create my own easy and cheap version. The base of this recipe is quinoa, but I have also tried it with other add-ins like kale and chicken.

Food Truck Style Quinoa Tacos

Taco Filling

Caramelize onion and brown garlic in a skillet. Cook qunioa separately. Add quinoa to skillet once cooked. Add flavor with chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, pink salt, black pepper, and a little oregano.

Slaw

Slice a whole cabbage, add to bowl. I used green, but red will also be fine. Grate one large carrot. Add a handful of minced cilantro. In a separate bowl, make the dressing out of rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar, a little orange juice, a little cumin, a little hot chili sauce (like sriracha) and/or red pepper flakes. Stir together and pour on cabbage mixture. Mix together, and let sit in refrigerator for an hour.photo 2

Assemble Taco

I use Ezekiel soft taco shells. Add taco filling, sprinkle parmasan cheese (or vegan alternative, optional.) Add cherry tomatoes, cut in half (other tomatoes chopped will be fine.) Add slaw on top.

One thought on “Food Truck Style Quinoa Tacos with Slaw

Leave a comment